Welcome to Eynsham Partnership Academy Trust

Contact Details

Eynsham Partnership Academy



The Board of Trustees of the Eynsham Partnership Academy are the legal governors and trustees of the Trust and the directors of the company.


The Trust central executive delivers the strategy of the Board of Trustees and provides leadership and central support to the schools in the Trust, under the direction of the Chief Executive Officer, Sarah Kerswell.


The Trust is overseen by its Board of Trustees.


The Chair of the Board of Trustees is Mike Foster – he can be contacted by email to or by writing to the Chair of the Board of Trustees, Eynsham Partnership Academy, Witney Road, Eynsham, Oxon, OX29 4AP.


Find out about the Directors below.

Mike Foster




Mike is the Chair of the Directing Board.  He is a secondary school appointed director and has served as chair of the directing board during its inception year. He has been a governor of Bartholomew School for nine years. Mike has worked within the NHS for more than thirty years. He is a mental health nurse and has held a number of senior professional leadership and quality and risk management roles. Mike is currently acting Deputy Director of Nursing for Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust. 

Frances Bartlett





Frances has a rich and varied background in education. She has worked in several Local Authorities as a primary teacher and was a secondary English teacher and Initial Teacher Trainer in Botswana for three years before entering school leadership back in the UK. She is an experienced Primary Headteacher having led two schools through successful inspections and since January 2014 has worked as a schools adviser for the Diocese of Oxford. She is a Diocesan nominated Director for the Eynsham Partnership Academy and also the link adviser for the church schools in the Academy Trust.

James Bird




James has worked in education for nearly twenty five years. He initially worked as a Medical Education specialist within a large teaching hospital and medical school, this included managing Welsh Assembly projects to develop postgraduate medical education across Wales. He retrained as a primary teacher and has worked in a number of roles across all primary age ranges – including senior leadership within two primary schools. James worked in an advisory role for a local authority before joining Oxford Brookes University as a teacher trainer and educational researcher specialising in learning technologies. Since 2014 he has combined work at Oxford Brookes with being School Improvement Officer within the EPA. James has also been Chair of Governors of one of the EPA schools. He was appointed as a skills director on the EPA board.

Anne Carter




Anne has extensive experience as a primary school governor, acting as Vice Chair and Standards Committee chair for a number of years. Anne used to be a Primary Teacher and now works for West Oxfordshire District Council.  She is a trustee of ADHD Oxfordshire. Anne is a Diocesan appointed director on the EPA board.

Dr Hilary Emery (CBE)




Hilary is a Diocesan nominated Director for the Eynsham Partnership Academy.  Initially a primary teacher, her research interests have been in assessment and she sits on AQA's Curriculum and Assessment Committee.  She led teacher training at the University of Worcester, worked for government on teacher education policy and children's services and was CEO of the National Children's Bureau.  Recently she has developed resources to help schools in managing children and young people's wellbeing and mental health.  She is a Norham Fellow at the Oxford University Department of Education; a trustee of Oxford United Community Trust; and works with Family Links in Oxford.

Dr Jennifer Faulkner




Jennifer was appointed as a Director in 2015 and is a member of the Standards Committee. She is also an academy-appointed Governor at Bartholomew School and a Parent Governor at Stanton Harcourt CE Primary. Jennifer chairs the Data, Achievement and Curriculum Committee at Bartholomew and is the Governor with responsibility for monitoring all aspects of Inclusion at Stanton Harcourt. She was previously Chair of Governors at a comprehensive secondary school in Bolton. Jennifer works part-time as a Lecturer in Chemistry at The Queen's College, University of Oxford and also as an Associate Lecturer for The Open University teaching undergraduate and postgraduate science students.

Sarah Kerswell




Sarah has worked in education for more than 20 years including working as Headteacher at Hanborough Manor School 2006-2017 and during this time Sarah was seconded to other local primary schools in order to support with school development.  Since 2015 Sarah has been the Primary Executive Lead of the EPA and is also currently the Interim CEO.  

Rain Newton-Smith




Rain Newton-Smith  is a primary school appointed director.  Rain is the Chief Economist at CBI and previously worked at Oxford Economics as Head of Emerging Markets and before that on monetary policy and international forecasts for the MPC at the Bank of England.

Jane Osborne




Jane is a secondary school appointed director and chair of the standards committee of the EPA. She is also chair of governors of Bartholomew School - where she has been governor for more than twenty years. Jane is also the quality of teaching and learning governor of Eynsham Community Primary School. She had a diverse and rich experience as a secondary school teacher and leader in the UK and overseas. Jane was leader of a large secondary school department for a number of years. One of her roles overseas included involvement in secondary teacher training.

Peter Reynolds




Peter has a background in Further Education and holds a senior appointment at a local college. He has been a primary school governor previously. Peter is also a Director of a Community Interest Company which provide opportunities for young people to develop their entrepreneurial skills. Peter is one of the community primary school appointed directors.

Michael Ryan




Michael is an Appointed Governor of Bartholomew School and secondary school appointed Director of the Eynsham Partnership Academy. He is currently Chair of both the Teaching and Learning Committee of Bartholomew School, and the Finance Committee for the EPA. For twenty years Michael worked in clinical biochemistry within the pathology departments at the Radcliffe Infirmary and Luton and Dunstable Hospitals. He then left the NHS and subsequently managed a family firm, a specialist contractor within the construction industry, as joint MD and finance director.

Craig Thomas